Domestic Cricket - Ranji Trophy Elite - Plate League 2011-12

Thread started by P_R on 2nd December 2006 05:10 AM

The move from the zonal to the Plate-Elite format have generally made the matches more even contests than they used to be. It is no longer about long knocks on dead tracks to maximize the innings lead.

The last two years have been quite surprising. UP and Bengal, not very highly rated teams, made it to the finals last year. Railways defeated Punjab the year before. In the two finals in a row, in the preceding years Mumbai comprehensively defeated TN.

Last year TN was unlucky to have 3 of its matches drawn due to rain. They suffered losses against Maharashtra and Mumbai. But they drew with Delhi and managed to defeat Bengal (who actually went on to become finalists !).

This year TN started by drawing with (but conceding 1st innlead lead to) Delhi. Badrinath (who made a century there) has been appointed captain ahead of biggies in the team. The second match against Andhra is on its way in Chepauk with another knock from Badrinath. TN still misses Balaji and is trying out new 'keepers in place of Dinesh Kaarthik.

Let's dicuss the Ranji results and TN's chances in this thread.

View Poll Results: Who will win the Ranji

22. You may not vote on this poll
  • UP will retain it

    2 9.09%
  • Mumbai will be back

    3 13.64%
  • TN will finally deliver

    14 63.64%
  • Other

    3 13.64%